
DrawnMagic alternative: when 10 drawings is the wrong starting point

DrawnMagic alternative: when 10 drawings is the wrong starting point
DrawnMagic turns exactly 10 kids' drawings into a 10-page hardcover for €34.99. What it does well, what to check first, and the alternatives if you have one drawing.
DrawnMagic writes one story from exactly 10 of your child's drawings and prints it as a 10-page hardcover for €34.99 plus shipping. That's a good fit if you have a stack of drawings and want them woven together. If your child has one favorite drawing that deserves a whole book, a storybook built from a single drawing fits better: 30 pages, $29.99 with free US and Canada shipping, and you can rewrite every line yourself before ordering.
DrawnMagic is a small, carefully made service, and almost nobody has written about it yet. That's why this page exists. It is written by a competitor, so read it with that in mind and check the prices on their site yourself.
Below is what DrawnMagic does, what it costs, the one design decision that shapes everything else, and the alternatives for families it doesn't suit.

What DrawnMagic is
You upload 10 drawings, place an order, and DrawnMagic writes a story around them and lays it out as a printed book. Its homepage calls it "a guided creative studio that writes a story from 10 of your children's drawings and delivers a carefully laid-out book to your home" (drawnmagic.com). The site is available in English, French, Spanish, and German, and you choose the book's language when you order.
Its terms of service describe the process as a mix of "human review, software tools, and AI-assisted systems." So it isn't a pure push-button generator. Someone checks the output, which helps explain the price and why delivery depends on the shipping option you pick.

Each drawing gets a role. DrawnMagic's own guide explains that some drawings become main characters, others become scenery or a magical object, and small details become clues that move the plot along (DrawnMagic guide). A rocket becomes a journey, a flower becomes a place.
DrawnMagic also says drawings are used only to make the book and handle edits, and that it doesn't keep the files once the book goes to print.
The pricing, in plain numbers
| What you buy | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Personalized book | €34.99 | One story from 10 drawings, printed as a hardcover the listing describes as 10 pages |
| Shipping and taxes | Shown at checkout | Not published on the site; delivery time depends on the option you choose |
| Free preview | €0 | Upload one drawing to see one sample double page in the book's style, limited to one try per day |
All figures came off drawnmagic.com and its Shopify store on 12 October 2026.
There is one product and one price, which is refreshingly simple. The two things to factor in are currency and shipping. Outside the eurozone your card will convert the €34.99, and shipping isn't shown until checkout, so the real total isn't visible until you're nearly done ordering.
The free preview is worth knowing about, but it previews the style, not your book. You see what one of your drawings looks like as an illustrated page. You don't see the story built from your ten until after you've ordered.
The 10-drawing requirement
Asking for exactly ten drawings shapes everything else about DrawnMagic. Its reasoning is sound: one drawing can inspire a scene, but ten give enough material for a beginning, a few discoveries, a problem, and an ending, without every page repeating the same picture.
Where that works well:
- A child with a big, consistent world. If your kid draws the same family of creatures, a recurring house, and a favorite vehicle, ten drawings already contain a cast and a setting.
- The end-of-year folder. If you're sitting on a term's worth of art and want one book that gathers the best of it into a story, ten is a natural number to pick.
- More than one child. Siblings can each contribute drawings, since the story is built from the whole set.
Where it gets awkward:
- The one drawing. A lot of parents don't have ten drawings they want in a book. They have one: the monster their four-year-old has drawn every day for a month, or the self-portrait with enormous hands. DrawnMagic can't make a book from it alone.
- Ten unrelated drawings. A dinosaur, a rainbow, a portrait of grandma, and seven abstract scribbles can be stitched into a story, but the more unrelated they are, the more the plot has to do to connect them.
- Choosing. Picking ten is harder than it sounds. DrawnMagic publishes a whole guide on choosing the right 10, which tells you something.
DrawnMagic vs DoodleTale, side by side
The two services start from opposite ends. DrawnMagic builds a story from a collection, and DoodleTale builds one from a single character.
| DrawnMagic | DoodleTale | |
|---|---|---|
| Starts from | Exactly 10 drawings | 1 drawing (or a photo of something they built) |
| Story | One story connecting all 10 | Original 30-page story with the drawn character as the hero |
| Book | Hardcover, listed as 10 pages | 8x8" softcover, 30 pages |
| Price | €34.99 plus shipping shown at checkout | $29.99 with free US and Canada shipping, or $9.99 digital |
| See before paying | One sample page from one drawing | The character, the full story text, and the cover |
| Edit the story | By request | Yourself: the title and every line, before you order |
| Languages | Book language chosen at order (site in EN, FR, ES, DE) | English |
| Ships to | Not stated on the site | US and Canada, 4 to 10 days door to door |
| Ages | Not stated | 3 to 8 |
Ordering any personalized book is a small leap of faith, and the most useful thing a service can do is shrink it. DoodleTale shows you the finished character, the whole story, and the cover before you pay, so you know what you're buying. With DrawnMagic, you're trusting the style preview and the team.
With DoodleTale, the AI's story is a first draft. You can sit down with your child and rewrite it in their voice: swap in the dog's real name, change the ending they didn't like, retitle it. The pictures come from their drawing, and the words end up theirs too. Check the FAQ for how that works in practice.
Where DrawnMagic is the better pick
In four clear cases:
- You want a hardcover. DoodleTale prints softcover only.
- You want the book in French, Spanish, or German. DoodleTale is English only.
- You live in Europe. DoodleTale ships to the US and Canada. DrawnMagic is a French company with a euro storefront.
- You have ten drawings and want them all in one book. That's exactly what it's built for.
If two or more of those describe you, DrawnMagic is probably the right call, and nothing below changes that.
Where a single-drawing book fits instead
A single-drawing book is the better shape when one character matters more than the collection. Picture a five-year-old who has drawn the same lopsided purple cat on every scrap of paper since summer. That cat doesn't need nine other drawings around it. It needs thirty pages where it's the hero.
In that case DoodleTale is the closer fit. One photo of the drawing goes in, the character is redrawn consistently across a full story, and the book ships as a 30-page softcover for $29.99 with no subscription. It also works from a photo of something your child built, like a clay figure or a LEGO creation, which a ten-drawing service can't use.
The other alternatives
Two other services come up when parents look at this category, and they do slightly different jobs:
- Drawtopia turns a drawing into a story and sells memberships for families who want a steady stream of books. Our Drawtopia alternative breakdown has the full membership math.
- Cheeky Pages lays your child's actual artwork onto the pages, with an optional AI story you can edit. The digital book is free and printed books start at $29 CAD, shipping to the US and Canada only.
If what you really want is the artwork preserved exactly as drawn, with no new story at all, an art book is the better category. Best apps to turn your kid's drawing into a book compares all of these side by side.
What to check before ordering from any of these
The final price, including shipping, in your currency. Get all the way to the last checkout screen before deciding. A cheaper listed price can end up costing more delivered.
What the preview actually shows. A style sample, the whole story, or nothing at all? The closer the preview is to the finished book, the less you're gambling.
How edits work. Can you change the text yourself, or do you send a request and wait? If the story calls the family dog by the wrong name, you want to know how quickly that gets fixed.
Delivery time for a dated occasion. If the book is for a birthday or a holiday, ask for a delivery estimate to your address before you order, not after.
What happens to the drawings. DrawnMagic says it deletes them after printing. Whichever service you pick, read its privacy policy before uploading anything with your child's name or face on it.
How to choose in one line
You have ten drawings and want them in one hardcover, possibly in French, Spanish, or German. DrawnMagic.
You have one drawing your child loves and want a full story starring it, in the US or Canada. DoodleTale.
You want a new story every month. A membership like Drawtopia's.
You want the original art kept as drawn. An art book, not a storybook.
Frequently asked questions
Its store lists one product, a personalized hardcover book, at €34.99. Shipping and taxes are shown at checkout rather than on the site, so the final price depends on where you live. Because the price is in euros, a card from outside the eurozone will convert it. Checked on drawnmagic.com in October 2026.
Exactly 10. Its FAQ says so directly, and the order you upload them in does not matter. The idea is that ten drawings give enough characters, places, and objects to build a full story arc. If you only have one drawing your child loves, you need a service built around a single drawing instead.
Its site refers to "requested edits" and says drawings are kept until the book goes to print so edits can be made. I did not find a self-serve editor where you rewrite the text yourself, so ask them how edits work before ordering. DoodleTale lets you rewrite the title and every line yourself before you pay.
It depends on what you are starting with. For one favorite drawing turned into a 30-page story, DoodleTale prints an 8x8 inch softcover for $29.99 with free US and Canada shipping. For a membership with many stories a month, Drawtopia. For the real artwork laid out as-is, Cheeky Pages or an art book service.
It is a working storefront with published terms, a privacy policy, a contact email, and a checkout run through Shopify. Its terms are governed by French law. I found little independent customer feedback about it yet, which is common for a young service, so pay by credit card and ask for a preview first.
Before you compare features, count the drawings on the fridge you'd actually want in a book. One and ten point to different services.
Related: Best apps to turn your kid's drawing into a book · Drawtopia alternative · How to make a book from your kids' artwork
Try it yourself
Turn your child's drawing into a real storybook
Free preview. No account needed. Ships to US & Canada.
Start for free